#### DECATUR COUNTY HOSPITAL BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES January 14, 2025 – 4:15pm

PRESENT: Denise Elefson, Sheri Frost, Guy Clark, Teri Foster, Larry Griffin, Rebekah Mendenhall and Cheryl Zach

ABSENT: None

OTHERS PRESENT:

Prior to the Meeting Recess at 5:16pm: Mike Johnston (CEO), Tara Spidle (CFO), and Shannon Erb (COO)

<u>After the Meeting Reconvened at 6:00pm</u>: Mike Johnston (DCH CEO), Tara Spidle (DCH CFO), Shannon Erb (DCH COO), Kyle Ahlenstorf (Infinity Health CEO), Erin Dykes (Infinity Health Director of Operations), Cody Cooper (Infinity Health Human Resources Director) and Infinity Health Board Members: Marvin McCann, Bill Morain, Tanya Coffelt, Kathy Lerma, Mary Frisbie, and Bill Weaver.

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Denise Elefson called the meeting to order at 4:15pm.

## II. AGENDA APPROVAL

Sheri Frost made a motion to approve the meeting agenda as presented. Beka Mendenhall made the second. Motion carried unanimously.

#### III. CLOSED SESSION – Iowa Code 21.5(1)(L) and 21.5(1)(J)

At approximately 4:17pm, a roll call vote was called for the Board to enter closed session for discussion under the following exemption(s):

- Iowa Code 21.5(1)(L): Marketing and Other Proprietary Information; and
- Iowa Code 21.5(1)(J): Real Estate.

The vote results were: Denise Elefson – aye; Sheri Frost – aye; Teri Foster – aye; Larry Griffin – aye; Rebekah Mendenhall – aye; and Cheryl Zach – aye (Guy Clark arrived and entered the meeting at approximately 4:20pm and was not present when the other Board members unanimously voted to enter closed session). Those present in addition to the Board members were Mike Johnston, Tara Spidle, and Shannon Erb.

With a consensus of the Board members obtained to do so, the Board returned to open session at approximately 5:14pm on the same date. The Board members present when the open session reconvened were Denise Elefson, Sheri Frost, Guy Clark, Teri Foster, Larry Griffin, Rebekah Mendenhall, and Cheryl Zach. Mike Johnston, Tara Spidle, and Shannon Erb were also present.

Following the return to open session, Sheri Frost made a motion to authorize the DCH Chief Executive Officer (CEO) to proceed as discussed in the closed session with a second from Teri Foster. Motion carried unanimously.

## IV. MEETING RECESS

As indicated on the agenda and announced during the open session (agenda approval section), the meeting recessed at approximately 5:16pm until 6:00pm on the same date. In compliance with Iowa Code 21.4(3)(a), the meeting reconvened within four (4) of the start of the recess and there was no change to the previously published and approved agenda.

#### V. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting reconvened at 6:00pm on January 14, 2025. Those present at the time were: DCH Board members: Denise Elefson, Sheri, Frost, Guy Clark, Teri Foster, Larry Griffin, Rebekah Mendenhall, and Cheryl Zach. Also present were: Mike Johnston (DCH CEO), Tara Spidle (DCH CFO), Shannon Erb (DCH COO), Kyle Ahlenstorf (Infinity Health CEO),

Erin Dykes (Infinity Health Director of Operations), Cody Cooper (Infinity Health Human Resources Director) and Infinity Health Board Members: Marvin McCann, Bill Morain, Tanya Coffelt, Kathy Lerma, Mary Frisbie, and Bill Weaver.

# VI. CLOSED SESSION – Iowa Code 21.5(1)(L)

At approximately 6:01pm, a roll call vote was called for the Board to enter closed session for discussion under the following exemption(s):

- Iowa Code 21.5(1)(L): Marketing and Other Proprietary Information;

The vote results were: Denise Elefson – aye; Sheri Frost – aye; Guy Clark – aye; Teri Foster – aye; Larry Griffin – aye; Rebekah Mendenhall – aye; and Cheryl Zach – aye. Those present in addition to the Board members were Mike Johnston (DCH CEO), Tara Spidle (DCH CFO), Shannon Erb (DCH COO), Kyle Ahlenstorf (Infinity Health CEO), Erin Dykes (Infinity Health Director of Operations), Cody Cooper (Infinity Health Human Resources Director) and Infinity Health Board Members: Marvin McCann, Bill Morain, Tanya Coffelt, Kathy Lerma, Mary Frisbie, and Bill Weaver.

With a consensus of the Board members obtained to do so, the Board returned to open session at approximately 7:29pm on the same date. The Board members present when the open session reconvened were Denise Elefson, Sheri Frost, Guy Clark, Teri Foster, Larry Griffin, Rebekah Mendenhall, and Cheryl Zach. Those present in addition to the DCH Board members were Mike Johnston (DCH CEO), Tara Spidle (DCH CFO), Shannon Erb (DCH COO), Kyle Ahlenstorf (Infinity Health CEO), Erin Dykes (Infinity Health Director of Operations), Cody Cooper (Infinity Health Human Resources Director) and Infinity Health Board Members: Marvin McCann, Bill Morain, Tanya Coffelt, Kathy Lerma, Mary Frisbie, and Bill Weaver.

Following the return to open session, no action was required of, nor taken by, the Decatur County Hospital Board of Trustees.

## XI. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 7:30pm.

Attest:

Guy Clark, Secretary