2018 DAISY Award

Sandy Dougherty was named the Decatur County Hospital 2018 DAISY award winner on Friday, May 11. Sandy was nominated by 2 different staff members and is very deserving of the award.  She goes above and beyond for her patients and their families. Sandy will also be honored at Mercy Medical Center in Des Moines on June 15th. Sandy has been an RN at DCH since 2001.  She works in Med/Surg and the ER. She lives in Leon.

Sandy Dougherty was nominated by two different staff members.   Both nominations reflected her extraordinary care and compassion.

“Sandy is so caring and considerate to all the patients.  We are so fortunate to have her.  She treats the staff and family member of patients with kindness and a loving smile. She is always willing to go above and beyond for anyone!”

“Sandy is very much a patient advocate.  She is genuinely caring.  Frequently rounding on all her patients monitoring pain levels, safety of patients, and comfort.  Other than documentation time, you rarely see her sitting.  Not only is she friendly and caring with her patients but to coworkers as well.  She involves herself with other disciplines and their treatments to learn how to better care for her patients.  Sandy is truly is a team player and represents DCH well.”

Sandy is a true example of extraordinary nursing.  She is what the DAISY award is about. The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes. Patrick died at the age of 33 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP), thus giving name to the award “Diseases Attacking the Immune System” DAISY. Patrick’s family was completely awestruck by the care and compassion that they and Patrick were shown during his 8 week illness that they wanted to say THANK YOU to nurses.

In Patrick’s Honor, the DAISY Award is now in over 2,400+ healthcare facilities in all 50 states, and in 15 different countries, all of whom are committed to honoring their nurses with The DAISY Award. Each year, one nurse at Decatur County Hospital is honored with this award.